When will we know the results of the 2020 election? A guide for each state.


The 2020 U.S. presidential election will culminate on November 3 when millions of Americans will come to the polling booth to cast their vote for Donald Trump, Joe Biden or an independent. But when will we know who won the election?

Every state in the country has its own rules when it comes to voting, including early voting, absentee voting, postal voting, absenteeism or personal voting on election day. The deadlines vary, and depending on which states get their ballots first, we may have a clearer picture of the election results before the final states announce their winners.

For example, California, Nevada, Vermont and the District of Columbia have mailed ballots to all voters in the state, as well as Colorado, Hawaii, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Montana, with the latter offering the option of voting by county.

Others have relaxed their rules on requesting a postal vote and extending the lead time for early voting.

Thanks to the coronavirus, the days when elections could be encapsulated in a single day are over – they now take months. Alaska, for example, will not begin counting early voting or postal votes until November 10, which, according to Project Five Thirty-Eight, could mean that counting will not be completed until November 18.

California has the most votes in the electoral college, followed by Texas, Florida and New York. However, California is known for the fact that it often takes a relatively long time to complete the count, with some postal votes not received until November 20.

Regarding the announcement of results during the night, states such as Arkansas, Hawaii, Idaho, Florida, Oregon, Delaware, New Hampshire and others are confident that they will hear their final results on November 4, 2020. Colorado has also said that according to Colorado Politics, between 70 and 80 percent of the votes will be counted on election night.

According to the Five Thirty Eight project, which is run by ABC News, polls are nearing their peak:

Alabama: 8:00 PM ET
Alaska: 1:00 am ET
Arizona: 21:00 p.m. ET
Arkansas: 20:30 p.m. ET
California: 23:00 p.m. ET
Colorado: 21:00 ET
Connecticut: 20:00 ET
Delaware: 20:00 p.m. ET
District of Colombia: 20:00 p.m. ET
Florida: 20:00 ET
Georgia: 19:00 ET
Hawaii: Midnight ET
Idaho: 23:00 p.m. ET
Illinois: 20:00 ET
Indiana: 19:00 p.m. ET
Iowa: 22:00 ET
Kansas: 21:00 ET
Kentucky: 19.00 ET
Louisiana: 21:00 ET
Maine: 20:00 ET
Maryland: 20:00 ET
Massachusetts: 20:00 ET
Michigan: 21:00 ET
Minnesota: 21:00 p.m. ET
Mississippi: 20:00 ET
Missouri: 20:00 p.m. ET
Montana: 22:00 ET
Nebraska: 21:00 p.m. ET
Nevada: 22:00 ET
New Hampshire: 20:00 ET
New Jersey: 20:00 ET
New Mexico: 21:00 ET
New York: 21:00 ET
North Carolina: 19:30 ET
North Dakota: 21:00 ET
Ohio: 19:30 p.m. ET
Oklahoma: 20:00 ET
Oregon: 23:00 ET
Pennsylvania: 20:00 ET
Rhode Island: 20:00 ET
South Carolina: 19:00 p.m. ET
South Dakota: 21:00 ET
Tennessee: 20:00 ET
Texas: 21:00 ET
Utah: 22:00 ET
Vermont: 19:00 p.m. ET
Virginia: 19:00 p.m. ET
Washington: 23:00 ET
West Virginia: 19:30 p.m. ET
Wisconsin: 21:00 ET
Wyoming: 21:00 p.m. ET

To check the nearest polling station, visit Vote.org.


Leave A Reply