Texas, Georgia and other Key Swing states extend voting hours after technical problems.


Several major swing states have extended voting times after technical problems at the polling stations slowed down voting at the beginning of the day. A number of polling stations in Texas, Georgia and North Carolina will remain open beyond the original Tuesday night curfew.

The extensions are likely to delay results from these critical swing states, further delaying the announcement of the election winner.

In Texas, Hidalgo County joined the Upshur County, making it the second county to keep its polling stations open for an additional hour until 8 p.m. CT on Tuesday.

The Hidalgo County Election Commission said in a press release that 10 of the district’s polling stations had technical problems due to “laptop check-in problems. All 74 polling stations will be open for an additional hour.

“It is our top priority to ensure that our voters have the opportunity to cast their ballot,” said election manager Yvonne Ramón, “Extending the closure of the polling stations until 8 p.m. will give Hidalgo County voters that opportunity.

Texas voters in Upshur County will also have the extra hour to hand in their ballots. A state circuit judge extended voting time on Tuesday morning after “problems with the voting equipment” caused delays of nearly 90 minutes.

Washington Newsday approached the Hidalgo County Election Commission for comment, but received no response before the announcement.

North Carolina also extended voting times at eight of the state polling stations in Sampson County, Warren County, Cabarrus County and Guilford County.

The Sampson County polling station saw the longest extension of voting time by an additional 45 minutes, making it the last polling station in the state to close at 8:15 p.m. ET. Another location in the county was granted an additional 24 minutes by the North Carolina State Board of Elections (NCSBE) to stay open.

In Cabarrus County, the two locations have an additional 17 minutes and 39 minutes, respectively.

Cabarrus County officials said that one of its sites opened late “because of a problem with the local printer. According to NBC News, a Sampson County site faced a similar problem.

Three other Warren County sites also remain open until 7:55 p.m. ET, while the Guilford County site remains open until 8:04 p.m. ET for an additional 34 minutes.

The NCSBE announced Washington Newsday results will not be released until all polling stations are closed.

“The last polling station is expected to close at 8:15 p.m.,” an NCSBE spokesman said in an e-mail. “The results should be released shortly thereafter.”

All polling stations in Spalding County, Georgia, will also remain open until 9:00 p.m. ET after a judge ordered the extension in response to the Tuesday morning voting machine crash.

Voters who are in line before 7 p.m. may use the regular machines to vote. Voters arriving between 7:00 p.m. and 9:00 p.m. will cast provisional ballots, which will not be tabulated until Friday.

According to WSB-TV, the election officials say that the information has been incorrectly loaded onto the ballots, causing the machines to malfunction.

In Georgia’s largest district, Fulton County, election results will be delayed due to a water pipe rupture in one of the district’s absentee mail processing plants.

Election officials said no ballots were damaged, but results from the district, which includes Atlanta, will not be available until Friday.

Texas, North Carolina and Georgia, which all voted for President Donald Trump in 2016, are expected to win a runoff in this year’s election. On election day, Five Thirty Eight leads Democratic candidate Joe Biden in North Carolina and Georgia by less than two percentage points and Trump in Texas by 1.1 points over Trump.

Late Tuesday, a Nevada judge extended the deadline for the conclusion of the elections in 30 locations by one hour. As long as voters are queuing until 8 p.m. PT, they can still cast their ballots.

In South Carolina, a printing error in one county will delay the final result.

More than 13,000 votes in Dorchester County must be counted by hand due to a printing error on postal ballots. Todd Billman, the Dorchester County Elections Commissioner, said at a press conference that although the error did not affect the votes, they would not be counted on Tuesday.

Billman said the full results for the district would be available on Friday.

Dorchester County had voted for Democrat Hillary Clinton four years ago, but Trump continued the state’s Republican tradition and won all nine votes in South Carolina.

This story was updated at 8:24 p.m. with information about Fulton County and at 8:41 p.m. with information about Nevada.


Leave A Reply