The favorites of the Heisman Trophy 2020 as Halloween weekend are getting closer.


It’s strange when you consider that college football is entering its ninth week of the season, while the SEC has only been playing for five weeks, the Big Ten only started last weekend, and the Pac-12 is still a week away from the season start.

But hey, it’s the year 2020, and it’s a weekend where Halloween will be on Saturday with a full moon, a time change, and just days before a presidential election.

Despite all the madness this weekend and this year, there are lists of favorites for winning the Heisman trophy in an otherwise strange and crazy year.

There are various bets on who will win this year’s Heisman Trophy, and Clemson junior quarterback Trevor Lawrence leads most of these lists. It’s hard to put a player from Pac-12 on the list when they still have one down down, and it’s hard to compare the Ohio state quarterback to a game with Lawrence who has gone through six games.

Regardless, according to, there are the favorites for the Heisman Trophy 2020 (remember that in 2019 LSU quarterback Joe Burrow was so far ahead that his chances of winning the trophy at one point were 15,000 to 1 – or +15,000).

-132 – Trevor Lawrence, QB, Clemson
+290 – Mac Jones, QB, Alabama
+404 – Justin Fields, QB, State of Ohio
+2500 – Najee Harris, RB, Alabama
+2875 – Kyle Trask, QB, Florida
+3150 – Joe Milton, QB, Michigan
+3575 – Zach WIlson, QB, BYU
+3825 – Travis Etienne, RB, Clemson
+4000 – Trey Sermon, RB, Ohio State
+4125 – Devonta Smith, WR, Alabama
+5000 – Brock Purdy, QB, State of Iowa
+6150 – Chuba Hubbard, RB, Oklahoma State

Others considered: Shane Buechele (QB, SMU), D’Eriq King (QB, Miami), Stetson Bennett (QB, Georgia), Master Teague (RB, Ohio State), Kellen Mond (QB, Texas A&M), Sam Ehlinger (QB, Texas), Spencer Rattler (QB, Oklahoma), Sean Clifford (QB, Penn State), Feleipe Franks (QB, Arkansas), Ian Book (QB, Notre Dame), Zamir White (RB, Georgia), Tanner Morgan (QB, Minnesota), Javian Hawkins (RB, Louisville), Myles Brennan (QB, LSU), Sam Howell (QB, North Carolina), Tylan Wallace (WR, Oklahoma State), Kyle Pitts (TE, Florida).

“Predicting who will win is a difficult exercise, especially in the pre-season,” the betting website said. “In 2018, eventual winner Kyler Murray was not even on the board at the beginning, and he was a +2300 long shot when he first appeared in late July. Finalist Dwayne Haskins started at +3500, and the 2019 season produced an even more unlikely winner: Joe Burrow had a +15000 long shot in the preseason.”

Of the 20 Heisman Trophy winners since 2000, only three of them were not quarterbacks. With Burrow’s 2019 win, there were 17 quarterbacks and three running backs to win the coveted trophy this century.


Leave A Reply