The 12-team format of the College Football Playoff would give six conference champions automatic bids.


The 12-team format of the College Football Playoff would give six conference champions automatic bids.

According to the Associated Press, officials from the College Football Playoff (CFP) will discuss a 12-team system next week, which would offer automatic playoff participation to six schools that are the highest-ranking conference champions.

According to an individual familiar with the idea who spoke to AP anonymously Thursday, if the postseason playoff is increased from four to twelve teams, there will be no limit on the number of teams from one conference.

The CFP management committee will determine next week whether or not to suggest the expansion to the CFP oversight committee, which is made up of university presidents. The management and oversight committee is scheduled to meet in Dallas on June 22.

Alabama and Clemson have made the playoffs six out of the last seven years, out of a total of 130 teams. The format will not be changed this season or in 2022, according to CFP director Bill Hancock.

See the list below for more Associated Press reporting.

Six at-large choices would be included in a 12-team playoff.

On Thursday, a comprehensive announcement was expected. The proposal for a 12-team concept was initially reported by Sports Illustrated.

The CFP’s unexpected announcement comes just a week before a planned presentation to CFP officials in Chicago on June 17 and 18. It’s a crucial stage in a long journey with many more to come.

After the presidents have given their approval, the next step is to determine whether and when the plan can be implemented.

The College Football Playoff is in the eighth year of a 12-year deal with ESPN. The deal doesn’t lock in a format but an assumption has been that any changes would come after that deal expires following the 2025 season.

The four-team playoff was implemented in 2014, a natural progression from the Bowl Championship Series, which matched No. 1 vs. No. 2 in the title game from 1998 to 2013.

But the playoff’s popularity seems to have stagnated as only a few teams have grabbed the majority of the spots since 2014.

Ohio State and Oklahoma have each been selected four times. That’s 71% of the playoff spots to just four of the 130 teams that play major college football, including Alabama and Clemson.

A 12-team field with six spots reserved for conference champions would guarantee at least one team from outside. This is a brief summary.


Leave A Reply