Charges for using a phone while in a European country will be reinstated next year by EE.


Charges for using a phone while in a European country will be reinstated next year by EE.

Despite earlier stating that it had no intentions to impose charges after Brexit, EE has announced that consumers will be charged for using their phones in other European nations starting next year.

New subscribers and those upgrading after July 7 will be charged a £2 daily cost to utilize their data, minutes, and text quota when roaming in 47 European countries starting in January 2022.

According to the Independent, roaming costs when traveling throughout Europe were abolished in June 2017, allowing users to continue using their mobile service in other EU countries at no additional cost, subject to a fair use limit.

READ MORE: A three-year-old makes a “scary” discovery close to her mother’s head while she sleeps

Following Brexit, network providers have the ability to reinstate charges.

EE, O2, Three, and Vodafone, meanwhile, have already stated that they have no plans to do so.

The move is intended to “support investment into our UK-based customer service and leading UK network,” according to EE, which is owned by BT.

“From January next year, EE will introduce a new flat fee of £2 per day for customers wishing to roam across 47 European destinations (with the exception of ROI, which is included in domestic plans), allowing them to use their full data, minutes, and texts allowance,” according to an EE spokesperson.

“This will only apply to new and upgrading EE customers starting on July 7, 2021, and will help fund investment in our UK-based customer care and leading UK network.

“Customers who want to travel overseas for a longer period of time will be able to purchase a 30-day Roam Abroad Pass.

“Customers on the Essential plan will be able to purchase the Pass for £10, while those on the Smart or Full Works plans will be able to incorporate the pass as part of their plan.”


Comments are closed.