Who will appear at the Streamy Awards 2020 Trixie Mattel and Katya as hosts


Europe’s YouTube hosts its 10th annual Streamy Awards to celebrate the online creators you love. It’s a fitting way to end a year in which many of us have undoubtedly spent much more time online. In addition to celebrating online content, the awards ceremony features performances by exciting musical artists, performances by a number of online personalities and hosting by RuPaul’s Drag Race alumni Trixie Mattel and Katya.

Wednesday YouTube announced that Mattel and Katya will host the online award show with an ad featuring the two drag queens. Probably due to the COVID 19 pandemic, the two will also abandon the typical format of the award show and take a party bus, aptly named Glam Tram, out onto the street.

A press release received by Washington Newsday says that Doja Cat, among others, will sing her song “Say So,” which spread on TikTok earlier this year, Lewis Capaldi will perform his heart-rending ballad “Before You Go,” and TONES AND I will sing her song “Dance Monkey,” which Billboard recently named the “Shazamed Song of All Time.

In addition to the musical performances, a handful of YouTubers will also perform. Presenter Lilly Singh, technology critic YouTuber Marques Brownlee and make-up blogger Patrick Starrr (who is also nominated for “Creator of the Year”) will all perform.

In the ad, Mattel also promised “many surprises” for the 2020 edition of the awards ceremony.

Each year, the Streamy Awards recognize the best and most popular online video makers on a variety of platforms including YouTube, TikTok and Twitter. YouTubers Emma Chamberlain, James Charles and David Dobrik were tied for the most nominations this year, each receiving five in different categories. All three are nominated for the coveted Creator of the Year award. Previous “Creator of the Year” award winners include comedians Tana Mongeau (2019) and Shane Dawson (2018) and the Dolan Twins (2017), who are comedians and sketch comedians. Before 2017, the award was called “Entertainer of the Year”.

The show also celebrates celebrities who have created popular online content again this year. The nominees for the crossover awards were almost all celebrities – YouTubers like Jack Black, Naomi Campbell, Kevin James and Will Smith – but singer Jason Derulo was nominated for his popular presence on TikTok.

Viral stars like Charli D’Amelio and Sarah Cooper received their first Streamy nominations this year, according to the deadline.

The Streamy Awards will be broadcast on YouTube on December 12 at 21:00 ET (18:00 PT).


Leave A Reply